Sunflowers and Goldenrod

Sunflowers and Goldenrod

As I drive around the Berkshires (MA) I see so many fields of bright cheery sunflowers and warm yellow goldenrod.  What a cheerful sight when many other flowers have finished blossoming, yet these two keep the landscape bright until the leaves start to turn.  Seeing the fields bring a smile to my face.  I drove by this barn and stopped to view the sunflowers growing right by the front and around the other side of the barn goldenrod is peaking out behind the tractor.  Across the street is a little farm stand selling bouquets of sunflowers. This happens to be only the second painting of sunflowers I have completed; the first one my friend Marla has in her dining room and I hope helps makes her day cheerful. Sunflowers and Goldenrod is now added to http://www.mjnicole.com

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

4 responses to “Sunflowers and Goldenrod

  1. Pingback: Tickseed Sunflower | Photomiser

  2. Pingback: Goldenrod | Forest Garden

  3. Hilda Moses

    You’ve captured a genuine glimpse of a backroads Berkshire scene, in the sunshine tones of Fall. The small tractor in front, suggests this barn may be from another century…but not abandoned. Like your other “Berkshire barns”, this painting evokes thoughts of past and present, with each viewing.

  4. Pingback: Nascent sunflower | Fika After Fifty Digital Photography and Art

Leave a Reply

