San Francisco Carousel at Pier 39

DSCN1298

My daughter read a book this summer called “A Drowned Maiden’s Hair” by Laura Amy Schlitz and she enjoyed it so much that she told me I had to read it which I did.  It was a really fascinating story about an orphan girl Maud, the family business of seances, and the intersection with a girl Charlotte – the drowned maiden.  My daughter is doing a school project on this book and is creating a scrapbook of items that remind her of the book.  In the book, Charlotte loves riding a carousel and her favorite animal to ride is a green sea creature.  My painting of the San Francisco Carousel (though the angle is mostly of the paintings of the underside of the top), does include several animals – including a green sea creature!

We were able to see this carousel last summer on a trip out to San Francisco. We were at Pier 39 and discovered this magnificent double-tiered carousel; my children and their cousins hopped on these amazing carved and painted animals and rode them around and around. I loved painting this carousel with all of the bright colors and the warm yellow sparking lights dancing all around the trim; the green sea creature was my favorite animal to paint as he rears his nostrils up in the air.  How serendipitous to have my painting remind my daughter of the book she so enjoyed!

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

Leave a Reply

