The Castle

The Castle

After living in the Berkshires for over 10 years, I have found that in order to really know the true Berkshires, one must explore! The Berkshires hides some of its natural beauty, but also some pretty interesting national organizations keep a low local profile. One example is in the town of Great Barrington, if you drive down a rural road called Division Street, you will come to a massive stone wall. If you turn between the stone pillars, and drive up the long windy driveway, there at the top of a large hill sits a brick mansion that is fondly called “The Castle.” This Castle is home to two organizations: one is the American Institute for Economic Research http://www.aier.org (that conducts independent, scientific economic research) and the second is American Investment Services http://www.americaninvestment.com (that provides asset management services). American Investment Services (AIS) is where my husband works. I bring my children to visit occasionally; the view from the top is delightful and the grounds are fun to explore. We have visited in all of the seasons, but when there has been a fresh snowfall, the Castle and grounds look magical. My painting is of the Castle coated with fresh snow. The view is from someone coming up the main drive; snow clings to the branches of the grand tree that stands post by the back courtyard. This image will be used for some really special AIS holiday cards and the original can be viewed at http://www.mjnicole.com

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

One response to “The Castle

  1. Hilda Moses

    Another great structure of elegant beauty, captured with your busy brushes!

Leave a Reply

