Ornamental grasses in winter

Ornamental grasses in winter

During the winter, the light can seem so magical especially an hour or so before sunset. As I was driving home after picking up my son from school, the light, the sky, and these ornamental grasses caught my eye. These grasses, Miscanthus Sinensis, (if I identified them correctly!) in the winter turn a light camel color and complement the white snow landscape. I was a bit captivated by the wispy and fluffy tops that curl in a paisley pattern. I have been thinking about exploring painting patterns and this ornamental grass may be my inspiration. My painting called California Coast Succulents (at http://www.mjnicole.com) is perhaps one of my paintings that is closest to creating a pattern. I love finding patterns in nature. . . what are your favorite patterns in nature?

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

Leave a Reply

