Chickadee, sing me a song

Chickadee, sing me a song

Last week I bundled up to walk my dog and luckily it was a warmer winter day. Birds were out and about and I walked by three old apple trees that still had many dried up red apples on the top branches. A group of chickadees were flying around these trees and singing their Chick-a-dee song for me. I stood for several minutes just watching these joyful birds hang upside down on the branches, peck at the apples, and then flit away to another nearby tree. It really made my day to see these Chickadees having so much fun! It inspired me to paint my latest “Chickadee, Sing me a song.” It is also my first mixed media piece at http://www.mjnicole.com. I have saved every single card I have ever gotten and have been thinking about how to incorporate the cards into my art. A part of the card is what the Chickadee is perched on and if you look closely the words “Sing me a song” are from the card. Let me know what you think!

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

Leave a Reply

