Meandering

Meandering

My blog is called “Journey of an Artist” and sometimes that journey meanders a bit! My latest meander is teaching an after-school art class at my son’s elementary school. It is a six week class for second graders and one of the projects I had the children do was making a paper silhouette. Ever see folk art paper-cut silhouettes? (I saw a few recently on http://www.ebay.com) To do the project, I took a profile picture of each child and printed out the picture, taped it to a sheet of black paper and then the children carefully cut around the profile (some of the noses ended up a bit square!). They selected a colorful background, put it in a black frame and took it home for a Valentines present for their parents. This picture shows the silhouette of my daughter we made for the class example. I especially love the silhouettes that capture a ponytail, braid, or a cowlick of hair. As we were doing this art project, I was reminded of the artist Kara Walker http://learn.walkerart.org/karawalker who creates artwork using silhouettes for the content. I first saw her work about twenty years ago in the Baltimore Museum of Art http://www.artbma.org in Maryland and was captivated by the stories her art told. It is great to meander a bit; where have your meanderings taken you?

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

Leave a Reply

