Make hay while the sun shines

Make hay while the sun shines

I believe my children are getting tired of me saying “Make hay when the sun shines.” I think I first read this quote in one of the books in the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder http://www.lauraingallswilderhome.com/. I think Laura’s Pa probably said this to his children when it was haying time. I had to explain this quote to my children to have them understand that when the sun is shining I must paint. Not paint a painting, but paint my 1940s house that has original cedar wood siding. Thanks to YouTube, I studied the way to paint a house and purchased all of the necessary equipment. You can bet I received a few comments as I left Home Depot with a 24ft ladder and $1,000 worth of paint. I started this DIY project last summer with a bit of fear – fear of the 24 foot ladder I had to climb to reach the peaks and fear of tackling such a huge project by myself. Eleanor Roosevelt is quoted as saying “Do one thing every day that scares you.” Well, on the first day of painting, I was scared and scared when I look at the huge expanse to scrape. However, now in the second season I am no longer scared. I scrape the old paint by hand, spackle, caulk, glaze the windows, sand, wash, and paint – up to five layers to obtain a consistent deep red color! Last summer I completed half of the house and this summer I am determined to complete the last half. So for the last two months, this endeavor has not left any time for me to add new paintings to my website http://www.mjnicole.com. However, I am rounding the corner to the back of the house since we have been fortunate to have quite a few sunny days. Now, please excuse me while I go and paint while the sun shines!

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

Leave a Reply

