Do-it-yourself

Do-It-Yourself

As I put away my hand sander and washed my various paint brushes, I thought about what a huge Do-It-Yourself project of painting my house has been.  I started two years ago in late May of 21013 and I worked on it on the days when the weather forecast was dry weather and while my children were in school or between summer trips.  I started on the north side of the house and tackled the full height of the house, then moved to the front (pictured here) and again had a new challenge with the dormer windows and shutters that demanded attention to their small slats of wood.  Several of our windows are still the original 1950s models and so I learned how to scrape, paint, glaze, and paint again the thin wood holding the panes of glasses in the windows.  The north side of the garage gave me a bit of trouble. After painting it, it started to bubble in a weird angled line.  I figured out that in the fall, the sun is lower and it reflected off my neighbor’s metal stove pipe and produced a laser like stream of heat that bubbled the paint as the sun moved through the sky (or more correctly as the earth turned!). I waited till this year to re-scrape and repaint the garage and then continued on the south side and finished up in the back on the east side.  This is a major check mark on my To-Do-List.  Woo- Who!!! It is finished!!! It has been fun to have the neighbors watch the progress – some would drive by and yell out their car window “Looks good!” when I was up on the 24 foot ladder and the walkers who watched intently and would offer words of encouragement.  With such an all encompassing project complete, I am looking forward to picking up my other paint brushes and painting more scenes of the Berkshires.

About mjnicole

After an eighteen year career in museums and education, I have picked up my paintbrushes again and am capturing the beauty of the Berkshires (western Massachusettes) and beyond. My blog "Journey of an Artist" is about the artwork I create and the inspiration I find. I work predominantly with oils now; I value the richness and depth of the colors. I love to travel and I photograph the captivating landscapes and scenes and then paints from the photographs. My latest body of work feature barns in the Berkshires. I live in the Berkshires with my husband, my daughter Olivia and son Luke.

3 responses to “Do-it-yourself

  1. Love the color, looks really good mj

  2. Hilda Moses

    You made it! I never doubted that you would…I think the hours invested, attention to detail, and sheer determination, echo your Grandma Clark’s rug project….however, she was not climbing ladders and caring for a family at the same time. Inspirational ! Mom

Leave a Reply

